About Us

About Us

Marin Coalition Board of Directors – FY 2017/18

Executive Committee:

Scott Pinsky, Chair

Kevin Hagerty, Vice-Chair

Paul Premo, Secretary

Nadine Muller, Treasurer

Board of Directors and Terms of Office:

Doris Law Bagley (2015 – 2018)

Kevin Hagerty (2017-2018)

Scott Pinsky (2016 – 2019)

Paul Premo (2016 – 2019)

Peter Singleton (2016 – 2019)

Nadine Muller (2016 – 2019)

Frieda Zolan (2017 – 2020)

Clayton Smith (2017 – 2020)

Board of Directors – Biographies

Scott Pinsky, Chair (Term 2016-19) San Anselmo

B.A., Government – Pomona College; M.A., Public Policy – Rutgers University, J.D. UCLA School of Law and currently Broker-Associate, Alain Pinel Realtors. 30+ years legal practice at several national law firms and as solo practitioner; emphasis in CEQA/environmental law, land use, affordable housing; clients have included City of Palo Alto, City of Morgan Hill (currently Interim City Attorney), City of Cupertino; appearances before numerous regulatory agencies such as Dept. of Toxic Substances Control, Integrated Waste Mgmt. Board, RWQCB and Dept. of Insurance. Counsel, Palau Public Lands Authority; Extern to 2 federal judges; Program staff, National Assoc. State Mental Health Directors (Wash. D.C.). CEO, San Francisco Institute of Classical Music Performance.

Kevin Hagerty Vice-Chair (Term: 2017-2018) San Rafael

Kevin is a lifetime Bay Area resident, the last 28 years living in San Rafael. He holds an undergraduate degree in Business Administration from the University of California, Berkeley and a Masters of Business Administration from Saint Mary’s College of California. He is retired now. During his career, he worked for the City and County of San Francisco as Director of the Parking Authority, at the University of California, Berkeley, as Manager of Transportation Planning, and at BART as the Manager of their Customer Access Department.Kevin is president of the Glennwood Homeowners Association, serves as a Board Member and Chairman of the Roadway Committee for the Point San Pedro Road Coalition. He serves as Vice Chair of the City of San Rafael Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. He is an active member of the San Rafael Federation of Neighborhoods and the Marin Chapter of the Women’s League of Women’s Voters. He served on the 2013-2014 Marin County Civil Grand Jury and is currently Treasurer of the Marin Chapter of the California Grand Jurors’ Association.

Paul Premo, Secretary (Term 2016-19) Mill Valley

Paul was born and raised in Syracuse New York and is a 51-year resident of Mill Valley. He has a Master’s Degree in Chemical Engineering from MIT and was employed by Chevron for 27 years in Engineering; Management in Finance, Regulatory Compliance including Natural Gas, U.S.-wide Property Taxes and as Corporate Secretary and Treasurer of U.S. activities. He has been an independent consultant since 1992. Paul was the 2012-13 Marin County Civil Grand Jury Foreperson Pro-Tem and Chair of Finance and Administration investigations committee. He is active in Marin Chapter of California Civil Grand Jurors’ Association; Taxpayers’ Representative on Transportation Authority of Marin’s (TAM) Citizens’ Oversight Committee; core group member of Citizens for Sustainable Pension Plans, an Officer with the Chevron Retirees’ Association (~12,000 members). He is also an energy consultant and Board Director for a first-of-its-kind clean fuels project in Napa.

Nadine Muller, Treasurer (Term 2016-19) Nicasio

Retired. Nadine holds a B.A. with Honors in Management from St. Mary’s College and spent 29 years in Banking. Her last banking position was VP of Private Banking at Bank of California. Subsequent positions: 7 years, CFO for Marin Sanitary Service and 13 years as an independent consultant to municipalities for rate structure and recycling and solid waste collection. Nadine’s previous Board and Volunteer positions include: Chair, Design Review Committee – Nicasio Landowner’s Association, Treasurer for Nicasio Volunteer Fireman’s Auxiliary and Board member, Novato Community Hospital. Nadine served on the 2012-13 Marin County Civil Grand Jury and was the  Foreperson for 2013-14  and is now Past President of the California Chapter of the Grand Jurors’ Association.

Doris Law Bagley (Term: 2015-2018) San Rafael

Doris is now retired and was the producer for 34 years of the annual Marin Home Show & Benefit Jazz Fest. She was the founder of the nonprofit fund raising event, the Jazz Fest’s “Jazz Jam Play Off”, where 100% of the funds were given to the music departments of Marin County high schools. In 2014, Doris established with the (MSA) Marin School of the Arts, the “Mark Peabody MSA Music Education Fund” to help music students with financial needs.

Peter Singleton (Term 2016-19) Larkspur

Peter is a lifelong Bay Area resident, and several years ago moved to Larkspur. Undergraduate degree from Brown University, an MBA from U.C . Berkeley, and a law degree, summa cum laude, from U.C. Hastings. Co-founder and Chairman of Bay Area Citizens—a 501(c)(3) that supports and protects the interests of the citizens of California in matters including land use regulation, property rights, local community control, and the environment. Peter is a Board member of Californians for Property Rights and previously a board member of a ministry working with orphanages in Russia. He is an ordained deacon and elder in one of the largest churches in northern California.

Clayton Smith, (Term: 2017-2020) Mill Valley

Clayton was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Following his study of Science and Mathematics at Ohio University in the mid-1960’s, he moved to Southern California, initially working on the Apollo Project at Space Technologies Laboratory. In 1969 he moved to Marin. Over the years he has been engaged in numerous small business enterprises, working in management positions in retail, manufacturing, service and investment. In the early 1990’s he completed the Business Administration and CPA programs at Golden Gate University. His active interest in local public affairs began in the year 2000, when he helped lead the campaign against the National Park Service’s plan to remake the circulation paradigm in the parklands of West Marin. Since then he has been an outspoke advocate for local control in governmental decision making and for a rational approach to public policy.

Frieda Winnick Zolan (Term: 2017-2020) San Rafael.

Frieda is retired from the Ross Valley School District. She served two terms as Chair of the Marin Coalition. Frieda is a Board member of the Marin Women’s Political Action Committee (MWPAC) and serves as Parliamentarian. She earned honors at entrance, U.C. Berkeley and graduated with a B.A. and teaching credential. Frieda enjoys the arts, including directing theater, painting, writing songs, and playing guitar and piano.


%d bloggers like this: